The BTB and BHA award scholarships to ten top-performing Belizean students

The Belize Tourism Board and the Belize Hotel Association award scholarships to ten top-performing students during a joint award ceremony held at the Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza on Wednesday, August 14, 2019. 

BHA’s Board of Director, Ms. Roanne Badillo, presented scholarships to six outstanding Belizean students, five of which will be pursing their high school diploma and one student who will be pursuing an Associate’s Degree. These include:


Jocellyn Martinez                Valley of Peace SDA Academy, Cayo District                            Banana Bank Lodge

Selene Almendarez            Independence High School – Independence Village              A Belizean Nirvana

Maria Tillett                        Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Cayo District                                     Banana Beach Resort

Blythe Thompson                St. Catherine Academy, Belize City                                              Atlantic Bank Ltd.

Kianna Dawson                    Eden SDA High School, Cayo District                                          Ka’ana Resort

Kyarah Williams                   University of Belize, Belize City                                                    The Great House Inn



The Belize Hotel Association established its scholarship fund in 2011 with the purpose to provide educational funding for the children of employees working with the BHA member hotels/businesses that are unable to meet the financial obligations for their children’s education. The scholarship program assists students who are enrolled/accepted to any Belizean High School, Sixth Form or University. BHA would like to give a heartfelt thank you to the immeasurable generosity of our Members and business partners who offered gift certificates, cash, and gift packages for our raffles/auctions. 

  • San Ignacio Resort Hotel                                                                       
  •  Best Western Belize Biltmore Plaza                                                      
  •  Atlantic Bank Ltd                                                                                           
  •  Belize Telemedia Ltd.                                                                                
  •  Tropic Air                                                                                                    
  •  Chan Chich Lodge
  •  Bowen & Bowen                                                                    
  •  Sunbreeze Hotel                                                                                    
  •  Ka’ana Resort                                                                                           
  •  La Milpa Lodge & Research Center                                                         
  •  A Belizean Nirvana                                                                                  
  •  Cataleya’s Guesthouse 
  •  Los Porticos Villas                                                                              
  •  Portofino Resort                                                                                           
  •  Banana Bank Lodge
  •  Grand Caribe
  •  Belize Ocean Club
  •  Island Magic Beach Resort
  • The Lodge at Chaa Creek
  • Banyan Bay Suites
  • Copa Airlines
  • The Ellysian Boutique Hotel
  • Mirab
  • Radisson Fort George Hotel & Marina
  • Belize Diving Adventures
  • Hamanasi Resort
  • Splash Dive Center

 Also, special thank you goes out to The Angelus Press Ltd who generously donated backpacks & school supplies for the scholarship recipients.




This year’s Belize Tourism Board scholarship recipients include Glenroy Godwin Fermin and Roney Adali Espinosa, who will pursue their Bachelor’s Degrees at the University of Belize and Hugh Rodney Hulse who will pursue a Culinary Degree at Stratford University in the United States. This year’s Jean Shaw Scholarship award went to Jennifer Araceli Padilla, who will pursue a Bachelor’s Degree at the University of Belize. 




The BTB Scholarship Program aims to provide financial assistance to students interested in pursuing studies in the areas of tourism and hospitality. As part of the program, the BTB selects individuals who demonstrate high levels of academic achievement and leadership and who express a strong interest in making a positive contribution to Belize’s tourism industry. Since its establishment in 2005, over 90 young Belizeans have benefitted from the program.


The scholarship awards represent both BTB’s and BHA’s unwavering commitment to the sustainable development of our tourism industry while at the same time fostering educational opportunities for young Belizeans.